Help Articles

International restrictions

United States export control regulations prohibit U.S. businesses, such as Coursera, from offering services to users in specific sanctioned regions.

In order to comply with these regulations, Coursera does not allow users in the following areas to access all or certain parts of our site:

  • Iran
  • Sudan
  • Crimea
  • Cuba
  • Syria
  • North Korea

Additionally, VOIP/Zoom may be unavailable in the UAE. 

Licenses from government authorities allow us to provide access to most courses to learners in some of these regions. However, per the terms of these licenses, we must continue to restrict access to select courses (primarily advanced courses in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics).

Depending on your exact location, you may encounter an IP or payment purchase block when attempting to enroll in or otherwise access a course. 

We value our global community of users and sincerely regret the need to impose any restriction on access to our site. Coursera will continue to work very closely with the U.S. Department of State and Office of Foreign Assets Control to provide access to users across the world in compliance with applicable law.


Powered by Zendesk